How much does pallet racking cost in Australia?
An independent guide to what Australian warehouses are publicly quoted for pallet racking. Every number links to its source, shows how many sources agree, and says when only one does.
The short answer. Published Australian figures for standard selective racking run from about A$50–A$250 per pallet position for kit or supply-only prices, to A$80–A$200 (Dec 2024) or A$280–A$520 (2026, fully engineered) per position installed. Installed figures come from single sources and disagree, so get itemised quotes. Your real price depends on height, load rating, floor, location and what the quote includes.
Pallet racking prices at a glance
| Item | Published range (A$) | Evidence | Public sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Selective racking, kit or supply prices Mostly kit or package prices with no installation, engineering or certification. Most figures cluster at A$50 to A$150; one guide goes to A$250. | A$50–A$250 per pallet position | 4 sources | Wholesales Direct, SpeedRack, Steel Power Shelving, Gwelo Developments source notes: selective racking, kit or supply prices |
| Selective racking, supply and install (basic spec) Frames, beams, safety components, install labour and basic engineering certification. Dec 2024 market data. | A$80–A$200 per pallet position | 1 source, unconfirmed | Pallet Racking & More source notes: selective racking, supply and install (basic spec) |
| Selective racking, supply and install (fully engineered and certified) Survey, engineered design, anchors, signage, AS 4084:2023 sign-off and handover pack. 2026, QLD/NSW metro. | A$280–A$520 per pallet position | 1 source, unconfirmed | Pallet Racking Maintenance source notes: selective racking, supply and install (fully engineered and certified) |
| Drive-in racking, supplier blog price (scope not stated) The page says "$150 to $300+" and does not say what is included. | A$150–A$300 per pallet position | 1 source, unconfirmed | Steel Power Shelving source notes: drive-in racking, supplier blog price (scope not stated) |
| Drive-in racking, supply and install (fully engineered and certified) 2026, QLD/NSW metro. | A$360–A$680 per pallet position | 1 source, unconfirmed | Pallet Racking Maintenance source notes: drive-in racking, supply and install (fully engineered and certified) |
| Used racking saving versus new Depends on stock, matching brand, size and condition. | 30–50% percent cheaper | 4 sources | QLD Storage Systems, Workspace Systems, Dynamic Racking, Gwelo Developments source notes: used racking saving versus new |
| Formal annual inspection, small to mid-sized site Report-only. Excludes repairs and replacement parts. | A$495–A$795 per inspection | 4 sources | Erect-A-Rack, BMHE, SteelCore Australia, Pallet Racking Inspections (SA) source notes: formal annual inspection, small to mid-sized site |
| Mezzanine floor, supplied and installed Typical basic storage platform at the low end; with stairs, fire protection or ceilings, small floors and offices toward the high end. Heavy loads, gates and electrical work cost more, and some guides go above A$800 to A$1,000+. Ex GST in most sources. | A$300–A$700 per square metre | 7 sources | Adex Group, Compacked, Complete Warehouse Solutions, Kit Mezzanines, Vertex Mezzanine, Unistor, Storemax source notes: mezzanine floor, supplied and installed |
Why the installed prices disagree. Two public guides give very different "installed" prices for standard selective racking: one (December 2024 data) says A$80–A$200 per position for supply, install and basic engineering certification (Pallet Racking & More); another (2026, QLD/NSW metro) says A$280–A$520 per position for a fully engineered, certified install (Pallet Racking Maintenance). Public kit listings and supplier guides put kit or supply-only prices at A$50–A$250 per position.
The older "installed" range overlaps the supply-only ranges. Our reading, which we cannot confirm, is that cheaper quotes often cover little more than kit plus basic labour, while the higher range prices in site survey, engineered design, anchoring, signage and AS 4084 sign-off. Each of those installed figures comes from a single source, so treat both as unconfirmed and ask every supplier to itemise what is included.
What drives the price
- Racking type. Selective is the baseline. Drive-in and push-back pack more pallets into the space but cost more per position. See Racking types compared, or the single-type guides: selective, drive-in, push-back and cantilever.
- Load rating and height. Heavier beams and taller uprights cost more. SpeedRack's labour-only install price alone rises from about A$560–A$3,500 (1.8 m) to A$1,400–A$8,750 (6 m) across its 15 to 100 bay options.
- What is included. Supply only, supply and install, and fully engineered and certified are three different products. See Cost per pallet position.
- Your floor and site. Slab checks or repairs can add A$2,000–A$8,000, and after-hours or cold-store work adds a percentage on top (see Installation cost).
- New or used. Public sources suggest used racking is roughly 30–50% cheaper, with caveats. See Used vs new and used racking for sale in Australia.
- Compliance. Racking in Australia is designed to AS 4084.1 and operated and maintained to AS 4084.2, with formal inspections at least every 12 months. See AS 4084 explained and the inspection checklist.
Estimate your rangeHow to compare quotes
Local pages: Brisbane pallet racking cost, Sydney pallet racking cost, Melbourne pallet racking cost, Perth pallet racking cost, Adelaide pallet racking cost.
Start here
- Cost per pallet positionThe unit everyone quotes, and why it misleads.
- Installation costLabour-only prices and add-ons.
- Inspection costWhat an annual AS 4084 inspection costs.
- Used vs newSavings and risks.
- Mezzanine floorsCost per square metre.
- Small warehousesBudgets for 5 to 20 bays.
- Cost calculatorA cited budget range for your size.
- AS 4084 explainedThe racking standard in plain English.
- Compare quotesA checklist to compare like with like.
- Used racking for saleWhat used listings publish, and how to read them.
- Gumtree and marketplace checksBefore you buy second-hand racking from a private seller.
- Selective racking guideThe standard system and what it costs.
- Cantilever racking costPer-bay prices for long loads.
- Drive-in racking costDense storage and its price per position.
- Push-back racking costDeeper storage with fewer forklift entries.
- Inspection checklistWhat regulators say to check, in plain English.
- BrisbaneWhat we found locally.
- SydneyWhat we found locally.
- MelbourneWhat we found locally.
- PerthNational ranges plus one local retailer.
- AdelaideNational ranges plus a local inspection price list.
About this guide
RackFair is an independent guide that is still being built. We are working towards a small, vetted supplier network so that you can request quotes from at most three suppliers per enquiry, with no contracts. None of that is live yet: no suppliers are vetted and quote requests are closed. We may earn referral fees from suppliers once it is. Read how it works.
Prices vary, get quotes. Every range on this page comes from public pages we read in Nov 2026 and links to its source. They are indicative, not quotes, and not advice. See all sources and what each says.